About Us

The purpose of this Section of the AALS is to promote scholarship, teaching, and related activities that will help prepare lawyers and law students to serve in leadership roles. The Section also will make recommendations to the Association on matters of interest with respect to the research and teaching concerning leadership development in the legal profession. The Section will work to develop a community of faculty, practitioners and students to exchange ideas and develop courses and programs to promote leadership development for the legal profession.

Click Here to Log-In to the Section Member-Only Pages.

Section Officers

Chair Douglas A. Blaze
Professor of Law / Director of Institute for Professional Leadership
University of Tennessee College of Law
Phone: (865) 974-6820 • E-mail: blaze@utk.edu

Chair-ElectDonald J. Polden
Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law
Santa Clara University School of Law
Phone: (408) 554-4768 • E-mail: dpolden@scu.edu

Past Chair • Leah Teague
Associate Dean and Professor of Law
Baylor Law 
Phone: (254) 710-1911 • E-mail: leah_teague@baylor.edu

Executive Council

April M. Barton
Duquesne University School of Law
Phone: (412) 396-6281 • E-mail: lawdean@duq.edu

Garry W. Jenkins
University of Minnesota Law School
Phone: (612) 625-4841 • E-mail: gjenkins@umn.edu

Susan R. Jones
The George Washington University Law School
Phone: (202) 994-7463 • E-mail: susanjones@law.gwu.edu

Hillary A. Sale
Georgetown University Law Center
Phone: (202) 662-4222 • E-mail: hillary.sale@georgetown.edu

Deborah L. Rhode
Stanford Law School
Phone: (650) 723-0319 • E-mail: rhode@stanford.edu

Hillary A. Sale
Georgetown University Law Center
Phone: (202) 661-6637 • E-mail: has75@law.georgetown.edu

Leah Teague
Associate Dean and Professor of Law
Baylor Law
Phone: (254) 710-1911 • E-mail: leah_teague@baylor.edu

Ellen Yaroshefsky
Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University
Phone: (516) 463-5882 • E-mail: yaroshef@hofstra.edu