About Us

The purpose of this Section of the AALS is to promote scholarship, teaching, and related activities that will help prepare lawyers and law students to serve in leadership roles. The Section also will make recommendations to the Association on matters of interest with respect to the research and teaching concerning leadership development in the legal profession. The Section will work to develop a community of faculty, practitioners and students to exchange ideas and develop courses and programs to promote leadership development for the legal profession.

Click Here to Log-In to the Section Member-Only Pages.

Section Officers

Chair • Leah Witcher Jackson Teague
Associate Dean and Professor of Law
Baylor Law 
Phone: (254) 710-1911 • E-mail: leah_teague@baylor.edu

Chair-ElectDouglas A. Blaze
Professor of Law / Director of Institute for Professional Leadership
University of Tennessee College of Law
Phone: (865) 974-6820 • E-mail: blaze@utk.edu

Past Chair • Deborah Rhode
Director, Center on the Legal Profession, E.W. McFarland Professor of Law, Director, Program on Social Entrepreneurship
Stanford University
Phone: (650) 723-0319 • Email Rhode@Stanford.edu

Executive Council

David H. Gibbs
Roger Williams University Law School
Phone: (401) 254-4563 • Email: dgibbs@rwu.edu

Garry W. Jenkins
University of Minnesota Law School
Phone: (612) 625-4841 • E-mail: gjenkins@umn.edu

Rachel F. Moran
University of California, Los Angeles School of Law
Phone (310) 267-442 • E-mail: moran@law.ucla.edu

Donald J. Polden
Santa Clara University School of Law
Phone: (408) 554-4768 • E-mail: dpolden@scu.edu

Deborah L. Rhode
Stanford Law School
Phone: (650) 723-0319 • E-mail: rhode@stanford.edu

Hillary A. Sale
Georgetown University Law Center
Phone: (202) 661-6637 • E-mail: has75@law.georgetown.edu